Home Forums Power Pivot Questions about PowerPivot

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  rhinofromTurkey 9 years ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

rhinofromTurkey
    Participant
    • Started: 0
    • Replies: 7
    • Total: 7

Question 1

What is the difference with PowerPivot in Excel and PowerPivot in the PowerPivot designer (when you click on “PowerPivot Window” in excel 2010) with regards to formulas

I imported a SQL table into the PowerPivot Designer and create a powerpivot table based on the data which was imported.

I’m  trying to add a column in the designer and it works fine as long as the formula is correct, When I try to add a column (via measures) it tells me that  “The value for column ‘Department” in table ‘report’ cannot be determined in the current context”

I’m confused since the Column and Table are present in the designer?

Question 2

I’m still learning PowerPivot (read:green) so some of this stuff is foreign

When Creating a powerpivot table within Excel, why cant I get the information in designer to be identical to the way it appears in the designer?

If I was able to add a measure maybe this wouldn’t be such an issue – but measures, from what I can tell, add a column based on input from the original query..

Or am I missing something?

Thanks I hope this all makes sense

tomallan
    Keymaster
    • Replies: 417
    • Total: 417

Hello,

I am pleased you are asking questions, that is how I also learned my answers.

Regarding Question #1:

All measures must be aggregations.