Home Forums Power Pivot Proportionate Allocation

This topic contains 13 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Deepak 8 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Deepak
    Participant
    • Started: 2
    • Replies: 9
    • Total: 11

Hello Everyone,

I’m new to DAX language and have been experimenting with the same. Though I’m comfortable with DAX upto some extent but not able to apply the DAX context on some of the very common tasks in FP&A (Financial Planning & Analysis). Let me explain it in detail:

The problem is with allocation through measures. I’ve attached a workbook with some dummy data related to Sales Quantity allocation. In the workbook, the task is to allocate budgeted quantity to previous year actual data (“ActBaseDataAllocation” Sheet) and the allocation is to be done on proportionate basis.

I’ve already done the calculations in the attached workbook using simple excel formulas like sumif, index and vlookup. I’ve also successfully attempted the same using PowerPivot but with Calculated Columns using RELATED and CALCULATE. Though, my real problem is that I want to do the same allocation using Measures/Calculated Field.

Would be great if someone can help me on the same. I’ve tried Budget Patterns on sqlbi.com but I was really not able to apply the same logic in my context.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

dan l
    Participant
    • Started: 0
    • Replies: 2
    • Total: 2

I don’t think this one will be that hard, but I’m still new to this:)

But just so I follow your logic:

For each product cat/sales office/customer combination, you have an actual sales quantity.  You calculate what percentage of the total sales that combination has and calculate  an equal proportion of the budgeted quantity?

This seems like a job for—–values()!!!  I think

Deepak
    Participant