Home Forums Power Pivot in line data scrub

This topic contains 15 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Mike Church 8 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Mike Church
    Participant
    • Started: 7
    • Replies: 24
    • Total: 31

First a dislosure, I am new to Powerpivot and have been on a Powerpivot binge since discovering it 60 days ago.  Have since read Rob’s book and tons of other information.  With that said,  I have a desire to solve for an issue in a dataset that I use as my source data table and it’s baffled me to the point of not even knowing where to begin in Powerpivot.  I could solve the issue at the data table level by overwriting some data using index/match but want to solve it in Powerpivot b/c I believe the skill would be beneficial for similar data scrub work.

I have a file that provides $ totals by month end dates going back 13 months.  I also have a certain code that I use as my rows measure in a pivot table.  A large 3 month data scrub on this certain code recently occurred which had the affect of creating an appearance of migration of $ between categories based on actual movement of dollars in those areas when in fact it the movements were artificial due to corrections in coding.