Home Forums Power Pivot Setting up SharePoint for the PowerPivot Data Models

Tagged: 

This topic contains 12 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  kfollonier 7 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

John Fetherolf
    Participant
    • Started: 4
    • Replies: 9
    • Total: 13

I have been working with PowerPivot for the past 2-3 months as my schedule permitted. During this time I have created a very powerful data model (currently it’s around 3GB) that I would like to share with others within the company. In addition, I want to start introducing Power Pivot to others.

Is there a document(s) that outline the requirements (hardware and software) and the processes to stand-up SharePoint to support this? I would like to have the data models refreshed at a scheduled time nightly. For instance, can this be done using on premise SharePoint, or are you required to us the SharePoint Online for BI?

tomallan
    Keymaster
    • Started: 0
    • Replies: 417
    • Total: 417

Hello John,

Power Pivot workbooks can be shared with on-premise SharePoint, but there are some requirements that must be met (including licenses for Enterprise Client Access and licenses for SQL Server Business Intelligence). Some resources for you to look into:

Building Data Models with PowerPivot by Alberto Ferrari and Marco Russo, Chapter 5, Publishing to SharePoint (pp. 117-132). See also Chapter 16, Comparing Excel and SQL Server Analysis Services (pp. 463 – 472) which also includes comparisons with SharePoint.

Dashboarding and Reporting with Power Pivot and Excel by Kasper de Jonge, Chapter 6, Sharing Dashboards and Reports within an Organization (pp. 141 – 174)

The “Great PowerPivotPro FAQ” ( http://powerpivotfaq.com/Lists/TGPPF/AllItems.aspx ) also has a couple topics, namely Topic I (Publishing on SharePoint) and Topic J (Report Gallery).

John Fetherolf
    Participant