Home Forums Power Pivot Relationship

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  tomallan 3 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

ssaharoy
    Participant
    • Started: 1
    • Replies: 0
    • Total: 1

Hello,

I am new to powerpivot and getting stuck with this problem.  In the attached file, I have incentive calculation done- basis idea is that we need to calculate incentive for a bunch of sales people- they have “maintenance” figures ( basically last years sale that must be beaten to get a commission), Budget ( or target ) figures and actuals.  The calculation is done on a quarterly basis ( I provided July, Aug, Sept figures  that are basically q3 or Quarter 3 figures). Each month, actual fig is more than maintenance for that particular month, they get a maintenance fees ( otherwise 0). For the total quarter, if total actual is more then maintenance, they get 8% commission on growth(= Actual -maintenance, if more than 0), but if they achieve the budget/target fig, they get 12.5% commsion.  I have the excel calculation in the calculation tab. How do I do this calculation thru powerpivot?  In the actual flat files, I have the months horizontically presented on top but I thought that PV would not be able to grasp that, so I put them in columnar way such that employee numbers and months are appearing in columns but I am having many to may relationships and pivot is not working. Could somebody help?

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

tomallan
    Keymaster
    • Started: 7
    • Replies: 2556
    • Total: 2563

Hi,

You are a brave soul to try this one as a newbie.

To replicate your layout requires a cube formula report.

Attached is an Excel 2013 workbook (will not work with 2010) with a power pivot model and a cube formula report. If you have Excel 2010, let me know and I will attach a 2010 workbook in a following comment.