Home Forums Power Pivot How calculate an average from a filed on related table??

This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  amarines 8 years ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

amarines
    Participant
    • Started: 1
    • Replies: 4
    • Total: 5

Hello, I’m a bit new to DAX,

I have tried several methods but I can not get it

I have the following related tables as shown below

table1 (client, dto)

>> —–>

table2 (dto, area)

>> —–>

table3 (dto, value)

The goal is to get the average from the “value” field of table3 with a calculated field

Average_value: = CALCULATE (AVERAGEX (Table3, table3 [value]))

Does not mark any error creating the calculated field,
    But when you add in the PivotTable, repeat the same value.
    I would greatly appreciate your help to solve this

regards

tomallan
    Keymaster
    • Started: 0
    • Replies: 417
    • Total: 417

From your description of results, it sounds like you are working with a many-to-many relationship.

To see a discussion of many to many, please follow this link:

A mystifying and awesome solution for many 2 many

Can you put together some sample data in a workbook?

amarines
    Participant

Hello Thanks for your answer

but no, its not many to many relationship

Here is the example attached

What i need is the average from he field “Value” on tabla3

Thankyou very much

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

tomallan
    Keymaster

Interesting.

You are either new to DAX (as said in the original post for this topic) or enjoy riddles.

Structurally, you have set up the relationship between tables 4, 2 and 3 as a many-to-many relationship where table 2 would function as the bridge table.