Home Forums Power Pivot Dynamic name for a measure

This topic contains 13 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Gary C 2 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Gary C
    Participant
    • Started: 7
    • Replies: 14
    • Total: 21

Hello
    I am relatively new to PowerPivot for Excel and have just bought a number of books on the subject which I’m slowly working my way through.

I’ve got some data which I’ve created a number of measures for, which represent totals for the current month, and previous 3 months. At the moment, the measure names are currentmonth, monthminus1, monthminus2, and monthminus3. the calculations are fine, but I’d prefer it if the measure names could be replaced by the actual month names as headings in the powerpivot, and dynamically update accordingly when a new month begins.

e.g. January instead of currentmonth
    December instead of monthminus1
    november instead of monthminus2

and then when February starts, show
    February instead of currentmonth
    January instead of monthminus1
    etc.

Is this possible? If so, could somebody explain in relatively simple terms how I can begin to achieve this?

Thanks for your time,
    Gary

tomallan
    Keymaster
    • Replies: 2554
    • Total: 2561

Gary,

If you are trying to put measures into column or row drop zones, the answer will be “you cannot do that”.

However, you may have options outside of a pivot.

What version of Excel are you using?

Tom

Gary C
    Participant

Hi Tom,

I’m using Excel 2013. The only way I can get around it at the moment is to have a row above the PowerPivot column headings that use a vlookup to find the corresponding Month name from another table.

For tidyness, I would have rather had the column (measure) names change dynamically, but I guess that this isn’t possible.

Gary

tomallan
    Keymaster

Gary,