Home Forums Power Pivot DSO Calculation for Dashboard

Tagged: , , ,

This topic contains 10 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  jwysocki 2 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

jwysocki
    Participant
    • Started: 1
    • Replies: 6
    • Total: 7

I’m trying to create a dashboard with Power Pivot for our AR team. I’m relatively new to Power Pivot, but I think everything I’m trying to display through the dashboard should be achievable through the use of Power Pivot, however I’m having trouble coming up with a calculation for DSO. I tried to follow https://powerpivotpro.com/2012/04/aged-debtorsdynamic-banding-in-dax/ in creating aged buckets (which didn’t quite work out properly). My thought process behind this was that I’d need to be able to calculate the age of an invoice based upon a slicer, but I realized this probably isn’t the best method to go about it.

Right now I have a list of line items for each customer that includes fields like amount, invoice date, due date, date paid etc. I also have created a measure for calculating sales.

Has anyone created a calculated measure to generate a DSO calculation based on a date chosen by a slicer? Any help walking me through creating a measure capable of doing this would be appreciated.

tomallan
    Keymaster
    • Started: 9
    • Replies: 2377
    • Total: 2386

What version of Excel are you working with?

I have worked with aging receivables and sales, but not particularly with DSO (days sales outstanding), but I think we could work that out.

If your invoice info has date and date paid, you should be able to calculate the age of any invoice from a point in time (such as date of data refresh) and not need a slicer. A slicer could be useful if you wanted to filter invoices for a particular date range like current, less than 30, 31-60, etc.